EYFS Curriculum

  • At Kinder City we are proud to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. Here are some of the basic themes we follow:

    Early years outcomes

    Children develop and learn in unique ways and at different rates. We encourage our children to become effective learners through the development of play and exploration, active learning and creative and critical thinking.

    Our children aged 0-3 years focus on developing the prime areas: Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication and Language.

    Our 3-5 year olds build on these prime areas with the addition of four specific areas – Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive arts and Design.

    We are committed to make positive steps in your child’s education, through enjoyable learning.

    Positive Relationships
    Children learn strength and independence from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

    We focus on learning through play which encourages exploration and investigation, helping children reach their potential in a safe and healthy environment, supported by our well-trained team of professional and caring employees.

    Your Child’s Educational Development

    A Unique Child
    Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
    We always encourage our children in both structured learning and free play. This balance provides children with independence and life skills.

    Enabling Environments
    The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

    Parental Involvement
    Parents participate in our nursery homework programme which involves both family and nursery in their own child’s learning.

    The EYFS includes seven areas of learning and development.

    The seven areas are split into three age bands:

    Birth to three
    4-5 (the reception year in school)

    The three prime areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning. The prime areas are then strengthened and applied through the four specific areas.

    To read more about about the EYFS click here